Heart to Heart Soul to Soul 

Kundalini Yoga

Ong Namo Guru Dev Namo

Ong Namo "I bow to the Divine wisdom of All That Is." Guru Dev Namo means, "I bow to the Divine teacher within."

Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini yoga forms the basis for all yoga forms, because it is about the Kundalini itself in all yoga sadhana (practice).

But what is Kundalini actually? Kundalini is a pulsating energetic snake of light that is coiled at the base of the spine (at the level of the coccyx) and lies dormant until awakened.
The Kundalini awakens and climbs up various energy channels (nadis) that are part of our energetic body. During the climb up, the seven chakras are activated, these are energy centers that also lie along the spine and that form the connection between body and mind. Also, the Kundalini has to pass through three nodes of attachment or Granthis in which our life lessons are stored. If we unlock the Granthis with the right "code" then the Kundalini can continue its way.
Granthis often relate to issues from the past, which are stored in our chakras and form blockages there. The rising of the Kundalini can therefore be hindered considerably. When our chakras are activated we have to question emotions, beliefs and face physical problems that we previously ignored. By unlocking the nadis, being open to the lessons locked up in our Granthis and activating chakras, we become aware of our hidden problems.
When finally the Kundalini reaches the top of our head and penetrates the highest chakra “the crown chakra” we reach a state of “Enlightenment”. This can be achieved through meditation and Kundalini Yoga.

Kundalini Yoga has several principles:

Kriyas, breathing techniques, Asanas (basic sitting postures), Mudras (finger postures), Bhandas, Mantras and the right way of practicing.


Kriya’s or yoga series, consists of one or more exercise(s) and/or one or more meditations and brings about a certain change in the state of the body and mind. A kriya affects the mind, body and spirit. 

Kapalabhati (Breath of Fire)

Kundalini Yoga uses an extensive range of breathing techniques. They are more extensive and refined than other yoga forms. The breath, the rhythm and the depth, is connected to the state of health, the state of consciousness and the emotional state. Kundalini Yoga uses the breath to change the energy state of the body. We know the slow breath, the breath of fire, interrupted breaths, whistling breaths and sitali breathing (curling of the tongue).


Asana’s Asanas are basic sitting postures, all parts of the body are connected and influence each other. So the posture should be balanced and easy. The posture should reflect harmony, in certain deep meditations the consciousness can change in such a way that you temporarily lose your normal body feeling. The surface you are sitting on should not be hard or cold. We know a number of basic postures, the lotus posture, the rock posture (sitting on the knees), cross-legged sitting, sitting on a chair, corpse posture, crow posture, cat/cow posture and frog posture.

The mudras are finger postures and hands represent an image of our consciousness and health. Ancient yogis mapped the areas of the hand and discovered that they corresponded to the different parts of our body and the brain. Each area has to do with different emotions and behaviors. By bending, crossing, stretching or placing fingers together or on other parts of the body, we can communicate very well with our body and our mind.


The Bhandas are certain combinations of muscle contractions. These contractions change the blood circulation, the pressure on the nerves and the flow of the cerebrospinal fluid. They also direct the flow of prana or life force into the nadis or energy channels through which the Kundalini energy flows. They collect the body's energy to raise consciousness and to heal the body. The Jalandhara bhanda, the Uddiyana bhanda and the Mula bhanda. If you apply these three together, the combination is called Maha bhanda, the great bhanda of Kundalini Yoga.


Mantra means sending out thought waves: it is a method of regulating thinking. There are many mantras and each mantra has its own quality, rhythm and effect. The combination of sound, resonance and rhythm of the mantra changes the state of consciousness which in turn determines the pattern of the flow of thoughts. Mantra is not just an arbitrary designation, it is a stream of sound related to an object. When the vibration of a certain sound corresponds to what it refers to, it is a sacred language. Chanting mantras is the union of ourselves with the Creator through vibration and determines what level of consciousness you want to reach. The power of the mantra is determined by your level of consciousness. Mantra Yoga connects the individual to the whole.

The right way to practice Kundalini Yoga

Many Kundalini exercises are fast and powerful. If you are a novice yogi, you build up the pace slowly and quietly. An exercise is concluded by inhaling, holding the breath for a moment, exhaling and applying the Mula bhanda. This helps to enhance the effect of the exercise and to allow the energy to flow to the highest energy centers. Important after exercise is also the relaxation after each exercise. You relax in an easy position for one to three minutes. The end of the yoga series is followed by a long relaxation. You will find that it will ground you again and bring you back to reality.

𝓞𝓷𝓰 𝓝𝓪𝓶𝓸 𝓖𝓾𝓻𝓾 𝓓𝓮𝓿 𝓝𝓪𝓶𝓸

Youtube inhoud kan niet getoond worden met je huidige cookie-instellingen. Selecteer "Toestemmen & tonen" om de inhoud te zien en de Youtube cookie-instellingen te accepteren. Meer info kun je lezen in onze [Privacyverklaring](/privacyverklaring/. Je kunt je altijd weer afmelden via je [cookie-instellingen] /cookie-instellingen/.

Toestemmen & tonen

Long Time Sun 


Belinda Carlisle

May the long time Sun

Shine upon you

All love surround you

And the pure Light 

within you

Guide your way on

Guide your way on


You want more information about Kundalini Yoga?



My Passion is to share my love for Yoga and Dance, all my Experiences, Knowledge and Wisdom. Explore and get inspired to awaken in your Power and Soulsdestiny. Feeling the flow of Joy, Lovefulness and Gratitude for Life itself.